Debut Author Amanda Carlson

Today I’m welcoming Amanda Carlson to my blog! Amanda is an Agency-sister and a debut author. She willing allowed me to ask her personal questions that I, as an unpubbed writer, wanted to know. Hope you enjoy her answers as much as I did!

1. Tell me your call story.
The call story about my books selling was one of the best phone calls I’ve ever gotten in my life! It came from my agent in the middle of the afternoon. I had no idea it was coming — my agent didn’t text me or email me, she just called. The first thing I remember coherently was her telling me, “you have an offer! And it’s a three book deal!” After that it was a little foggy, but there was lots of screaming and ohmigods involved. I’d been on sub for three months. We’d received a few rejections up front, but the majority of the editors were still sitting on it. I called my husband first, and then my parents. My husband left work and surprised me at home an hour later with flowers & wine. My parents brought over dinner and we all celebrated. It was an absolutely fantastic day! I will remember it always.

2. What are you most looking forward to in this year before your book releases?
I’m most looking forward to finishing the next two books in the series. I’m having a lot of fun immersing myself deeper into my world and flushing out all the characters. I have to pinch myself daily because it’s been so much fun. I’m also looking forward to jumping into the writing community, attending more conferences, networking with other writers and earning my street-cred as an author.

3. Please tell me about your book. What’s your blurb?

FULL BLOODED (Jessica McClain book one): Born the only female in an all male race, Jessica McClain isn’t just different—she’s feared.

After living under the radar for the last twenty-six years, Jessica is thrust unexpectedly into her first change, a full ten years late. She wakes up to find she’s in the middle of a shit storm. Now that she’s become the only female full-blooded werewolf in town, the supernatural world is already clamoring to take a bite out of her and her new Pack must rise up and protect her.

My publisher (Orbit) wanted me to pare down the teaser for now, but you can find more about the books here: www.amandacarlson.com, links to goodreads, facebook & twitter are there. I’m hoping to add more, give more detailed teasers, unveil my cover art, plus lots more — so if you want to find out more about my books the best place is my website.

4. I loved the picture of your office! Share with me your writing environment. Where/when do you write best/most productively?
I write the best in the morning. I love my office, which happens to be a sun room attached to my bedroom. Lots of windows, so it gets bright, but during the long, dark MN winters it’s a blessing. When I absolutely have to get out, I usually head to a local coffee shop. I don’t usually do a lot of writing there, but I do edit.

5. How do you de-stress/stretch from a long day of writing?
My husband and I try to have “date night” every Friday. We’ve been trying to tour all the local foodie restaurants in town. Or we go see a movie if anything good is showing. I also love taking a long, hot bubble bath with my US Weekly magazine! Nothing clears the brain quicker than mindless entertainment. There’s not a lot of downtime between my writing day and real life stuff, because I try to wrap up writing right as the kids get home so I can jump into the mom stuff. Late in the evenings and Friday nights have become something I look forward to! It’s a much needed decompression.

6. You gave a workshop at a conference. Care to give the cliff notes version of your workshop?
I had a blast in GA this fall giving a workshop entitled: “Finding Your Voice.” I highlighted what voice means to me as a writer in two categories. How you get your voice on the page, i.e. finishing your WIP, and once your manuscript is finished, how to make it your voice POP.

Just for your blog readers, I’d be happy to link my workshop notes here. Previously, it was only available the workshop attendees. Your readers can find it here: www.amandacarlson.com/findingyourvoice

Thanks, Amanda, so much for answering my burning questions. I can’t wait to read your books!


About Marisa Cleveland

writer. reader. infinite dreamer.
This entry was posted in reader and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Debut Author Amanda Carlson

  1. Melissa Landers says:

    Great interview! Congrats, Mandy! I can’t wait to read your books.

  2. amandaflower says:

    Fantastic interview! I’m so looking forward to your first book!

  3. Your blurb sounds amazing! I can’t wait to see the cover! …and read the books!

  4. jamieayres says:

    YAY for a blog, and a great interview to boot:))

  5. Wonderful interview and thank you for the peek into your life, Mandy. The books sounds amazing and I can’t wait to get my hands on it! And thanks, Risa, for asking great questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

