Buccaneer Blogfest 1

I am super excited to be participating in my first blogfest! Thanks to Jamie Ayres for “introducing” me to Sharon Bayliss by way of Twitter. I love meeting other writers, and I can’t wait to read everyone’s posts and hear about their journey.

Okay, here goes Day 1:

Before I met Nicole Resciniti, I started hundreds of billions of projects but never finished any of them. Writing was a hobby. It was fun. It was my creative outlet and my down time and my therapy.

When I was a teacher, I wrote YA during the school year and adult contemporary romance during the summer.

Now, I have three finished manuscripts, thousands of rejections, and too many tears to count. But I’ve made it to pub board twice, and I have a supportive hubby and an almost unlimited supply of wine.

Here are my links:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/marisacleveland (when I hit 500 followers, I’m going to beg my agent to have another first page contest like the one posted here)

Facebook: www.facebook.com/marisacleveland00

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1246219-marisa-cleveland

I’m sure I’m forgetting a link or two… OH! Like Google+ and Pinterest… But I’ll have to add those later.

 

Cheers for now!

 

 

 

 

 

About Marisa Cleveland

writer. reader. infinite dreamer.
This entry was posted in writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Buccaneer Blogfest 1

  1. But I’ve made it to pub board twice, and I have a supportive hubby and an almost unlimited supply of wine.

    Love this! Between the hubby and the wine, you’re a guanteed success, my dear!

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Thanks, Jen! I do hope you’re right. 😀 I’ll live vicariously through all my pubbed friends until that happens.

  2. Having a supportive hubby makes all the difference in the world! And a supportive agent doesn’t hurt either. 😉

  3. amyskennedy says:

    Amen to the supportive husband (and the wine). I’m wondering what changed for you — or maybe you’ll be writing about that in a future post — going from lots of started projects to 3 finished manuscripts?

    p.s. I just started with Pinterest and now I’m obsessed…sigh.

  4. jamieayres says:

    I know your hubby and your agent & I agree that you’re very lucky indeed! I do wish I could get you wasted more–your tolerance for wine is too high;-) Love ya girly & we need to paint the town red sometime soon please!! ~chEErs

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      “…time isn’t wasted when you’re getting wasted…” — that just popped into my head, and yes, I have a high tolerance for many vices in life. 😀 Hugs!

  5. Talynn says:

    Interesting facts and fancies! So glad to be on this journey with you during the blogfest!
    I’m working on making it to the pub board, I don’t drink wine, and my hubby is most gracious to let me sit and write as much as possible:)

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Talynn, can’t wait to get to know you. I love meeting other writers on this journey. 🙂

  6. Good to meet you Marisa, it’ll be fun sailing the writing seas with you for the blogfest.

  7. Ha! Your “secrets” post about your agent made me LOL. Following you. 🙂

    http://anallegedauthor.blogspot.com/

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      I’ll make sure I’ve followed you when I get home. I entered the blogfest blogs in GoogleReader. Love it!

  8. Ben says:

    Nice to meet you! Following now.

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Ben, great “seeing” you here. I’ll make sure you’re in my GoogleReader when I get home. I can definitely relate to how your first manuscript went down in flames. 🙂

  9. Debbie Herbert says:

    I hear you on the rejections. 🙂 But it sounds like you are VERY close. A supportive DH makes a world of difference, mine’s the same.
    Debbie

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Debbie… now the problem is my finishing something else. Haha. But I’m sure we’ll look back at this one day and be like, oh those rejections! They had to be good for something, right?!?

  10. Hi Marisa, and welcome along for the ride that is publication nightmares. Sadly rejections are a large part of it, even for the best, so keep at it 🙂

  11. Nice to meet you Marisa. It’s great to hear you found a supportive agent that helped you focus your writing. Good luck reaching publication. 🙂

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Clare, thanks for the kind words. Support is a huge part of my writing, and I love how many like-minded writers exist. 🙂

  12. Michelle says:

    Wine is definitely an important part of the writing process. And I feel ya on the rejections, but having a supportive husband really does help tons. Nice to *meet* ya! 🙂

  13. Jade Hart says:

    Nice to meet you 🙂
    Cheers to having a wonderful supportive hubby! And boo to all the rejections, I know that pain.
    Love to meet another writer 🙂

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Jade, thanks for stopping by. I just visited your blog!

      • dianeokey says:

        How could I have failed to mention in my last comment…? Here’s to supportive husbands–bless them all–and wine! think I could use a bottle…or two :-)…about now. LOL Any suggestions as to how to make 40-hour days, no sleep required? 🙂
        Diane

  14. I’m so glad we met too! I’m cheering for you to get that publishing contract. I’m sure it will happen sooner or later, hopefully sooner!

  15. A.J. Locke says:

    Hi! Nice to meet you and learn more about you!

  16. Shell Flower says:

    Congrats on all the writing you’ve accomplished and so glad that it is therapy, too. I can relate to the tears, but it seems you’ve made it through to the other side. Cheers *passes the wine*

  17. So glad you are joining us!! I am looking forward to getting to know you. 3 manuscripts? That is a huge accomplishment. Supportive husbands are as great as fine wine:)

  18. A.K. Morgen says:

    I’m jealous about the unlimited supply of wine, but I admire your outlook! You will go far. 🙂

  19. yay for the wine and the supportive husband 🙂 Congratulations on your awesome progress!

  20. dianeokey says:

    Risa,
    Sounds so you! Love it–and your “call” is coming. Hang in there!
    Diane

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Hi Diane, thanks for stopping by! Can’t wait to arrange your FB chat!

      • dianeokey says:

        My pleasure. I’m looking forward to our FB chat, too. Beyond busy trying to finalize all my pre-pub stuff. Just got the email from TWRP that my book’s available for me to purchase. WOOT! Exciting and terrifying!! At one time, July 27th seemed forever away, now it’s steamrolling toward me LOL
        Hugs,
        Diane

  21. Hi Marisa! Unlimited bottles of wine? Can I come over? LOL! You’re lucky to have a supportive hubby (I have one, too). Just keep on plugging away. You should join the Insecure Writer’s Support Group – we commiserate together once a month:)

  22. Thanks for sharing your journey. Sounds like it’s been a great one!

  23. Tonya Kuper says:

    Nice to “meet” you! I used to teach, too. What an awesome job as an agency intern! With a supportive husband and unlimited supply of wine, you can do ANYTHING! 😀

Leave a Reply

