Buccaneer Blogfest 4

Day 4: First Paragraph

My sophomore science teacher said adolescence followed the similar pattern of a butterfly.  Some teenagers still remained caterpillars, while others already emerged as beautiful, winged creatures. But sometimes, in the early morning fog, in the quiet of the back roads, a butterfly darts in front of a random vehicle and dies. Dead at sixteen.  I was just another statistic.  Until I became a guiding angel.

Suicidal Butterfly: A guiding angel novel

Hmmm… that was easier than I thought when I first noticed the assignment… Just copy and paste and off it goes into the universe. *gulps more wine*

Be sure to check out the other first paragraphs in the blog hop! Sharon’s post will help you find them.

About Marisa Cleveland

writer. reader. infinite dreamer.
This entry was posted in writer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Buccaneer Blogfest 4

  1. Shell Flower says:

    This is a great first paragraph. The first sentence is lovely on its own and already tells me this is a book about a teenager. It’s great how your first paragraph already clues us in that this is a paranormal angel story. I can’t wait to hear more about your WiP this week!

  2. Tonya Kuper says:

    OMGsh! Sucked in already. Nice job! I wanna read more. : )

  3. jamieayres says:

    I never got to read this one . . . I’m totally sucked in. Beautiful prose & you’ve already set up the whole story in one paragraph. Nicely done:-) You can stop gulping wine now, you did great!

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Yes, you did. I have notes from you. It’s the one that almost made it… Never gonna stop gulping my wine. 🙂

      • jamieayres says:

        Really? I don’t remember it all and I think I would. I remember reading your YA’s Broken Butterfly and Inheritance and then your then your South Beach story but that’s it??

  4. AA says:

    16 and already dead? That definitely makes for a great beginning!

    • Marisa Cleveland says:

      Thanks! It’s common in YA now, but that’s because it’s so shocking when it happens in real life. 🙂

  5. Aldrea Alien says:

    That is both beautiful and sad.
    Love it!

  6. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love your opening lines! They have a really literary fiction feel to them.

  7. dianeokey says:

    Posted this to my FB page, Risa. Love it!!
    Diane

  8. I’m totally already hooked. A very poignant paragraph.

  9. Talynn Lynn says:

    I love the prose here and I think this is a great beginning hook. I’m wondering if it’s not going to be similar to my Guardian Elite series? It’s definitely something I want to read!

Leave a Reply

