Promoted! So… Contest!

Friends!lane copy

If we’re friends on Facebook, then you probably already know I’ve been abandoned – yet again! But it’s all good. In fact, it’s all GREAT!

Literary assistant Lane Heymont has been promoted to junior agent with The Seymour Agency! You can read his new profile here: http://www.theseymouragency.com/About-Us.html.

In celebration of his promotion – and my abandonment – I’m offering another contest for writers, and this time entrants get to help me and get Lane’s professional opinion on their first page.

The rules are simple.
– Polish your first page
– Enter the Rafflecopter contest

It’s that easy! But it’s also completely random.

Here are the details:
– At the end of the contest, Rafflecopter will randomly generate five winners
– Marisa will email the five winners with congratulations and specific instructions on how to submit their first page to Lane
– Lane will provide a detailed critique on that first page, including what caught his interest, if he’d like to read more, or why he would pass on offering representation

Why am I offering the contest like this? Because this business is subjective, and it’s a chance for anyone to see why he would or wouldn’t request more pages. Also, he’s open to queries, so if your completed manuscript is fabulous, you could always query him directly.

I’m really excited to be offering this contest on my blog, because of this and THIS!

As always, thanks for stopping by!

xox
~Risa

About Marisa Cleveland

writer. reader. infinite dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Promoted! So… Contest!

  1. laneaheymont says:

    Reblogged this on Lane Heymont and commented:
    Enter to win a 1 page critique from me, Lane Heymont, junior agent at The Seymour Agency!

  2. Hello! I’m all entered though I planned on querying my Russian YA Historical Romance anyway! Fingers crossed.

  3. Greta says:

    Currently writing YA. Thanks for sponsoring this great opportunity.

  4. D'Ann says:

    Thank you for the opportunity! I write contemporary westerns.

  5. Lori says:

    Thank you for doing this. It’s tough out there :-). I write contemporary romance.

  6. pfunky32 says:

    I write YA sci/fi. Thanks for the opportunity!

  7. rxena77 says:

    I write dark urban literary fantasy. And along with the others, thank you for the opportunity.

  8. Thanks! I write YA contemporaries.

  9. Evelyn Guy says:

    I currently write YA and Christian/Inspiritional. I have several completed manuscripts I plan to submit in 2015 – one was started in 1981.

  10. Congrats to Lane! What a fun contest!

  11. rxena77 says:

    My latest novel is a multi-cultural dark modern fantasy actually. Thanks, Marcia and Lane.

  12. I’ve finished a MG fantasy, which I’m shopping around. I’d love to work with the Seymour Agency. Thanks for this opportunity.

  13. Pingback: Contest Roundup – February 2015 | Sub It Club

  14. I have written a series of YA romantic thrillers involving teen sleuths in international settings.

  15. S.W. says:

    I write YA fantasy romance. Thanks for the opportunity!

  16. I write YA fantasy. May the raffle gods smile on me (I’m sorry for whatever I’ve done in the past to offend them).

  17. Erin says:

    Great idea and opportunity! I am working on a NA fantasy. Planning on querying also.

  18. Yanicke says:

    Thanks so much for this opportunity! I write historical paranormal YA and fantasy YA 🙂

  19. TS Liard says:

    Thank you for the opportunity. I write YA and Chapter books. My current YA is a Kitsune Contemporary Retelling.

  20. Thank you for this great opportunity. I’m in the process of editing my ya fantasy, sci-fi, with a pinch of romance novel. this will be a good testing ground before i start the querying process.

  21. Joseph Miller says:

    Thanks for this chance to get a critique. The story I’d be submitting if I win is a MG Fantasy.

  22. Meradeth says:

    Thanks for this awesome opportunity! I’m currently working on an NA paranormal 🙂

  23. STW says:

    I’d love to win a critique for my YA retelling 🙂

Leave a Reply

