New Orleans, Books, and Bars

Still recovering from my first Romantic Times Booklovers Convention, and I’m already so super excited for next year!

To view more pics from RT, visit my Facebook RT 2014 album.

Here are some highlights:

Marisa Cleveland Nicole Resciniti RT2014

“America has only three cities: New York, San Francisco, and New Orleans. Everywhere else is Cleveland.” – Tennessee Williams

Marisa Cleveland RT2014 fit club“She is a New Orleans girl & New Orleans girls never live anywhere else and even if they do, they always come back.” – Chris Rose.

Marisa Cleveland RT2014 Entangled“It’s not unusual for a visitor to the city to gain fifteen pounds in a week – yet the alternative is a whole lot worse.” – Tom Robbins

Marisa Cleveland RT2014 bourbon st“She had understood before she had ever dreamed of a city such as this, where every texture, every color, leapt out at you, where every fragrance was a drug, and the air itself was something alive and breathing.” – Anne Rice

Marisa Cleveland Lynn Hallberg RT2014“Everybody here has a story. New Orleans was always a place where people talked too much even if they had nothing to say. Now everyone’s got something to say.” – Chris Rose

IMG_2170“At one point, early on, some public figures even asked whether it ‘made sense’ to rebuild New Orleans. Would you let your own mother die because it didn’t make financial sense to spend the money to treat her, or because you were too busy to spend time to heal her sick spirit?” – Tom Piazza

“I love New Orleans.” – Chris Paul

Marisa Cleveland HQN party RT2014“The one thing that sticks with me is that I love New Orleans. It’s not a city. It’s a way of life. It’s a place that you fall deeply in love with.” – Jesse Moore

Marisa Cleveland RT2014“I’m from a city of Saturday night sinners and Sunday morning Saints.” – Kataalyst Alcindor

Marisa Cleveland Laura Simcox RT2014“But during all these years I had a vague but persistent desire to return to New Orleans. I never forgot New Orleans. And when we were in tropical places and places of those flowers and trees that grow in Louisiana, I would think of it acutely and I would feel for my home the only glimmer of desire I felt for anything outside my endless pursuit of art.” – Anne Rice

Marisa Cleveland RT2014 book signingWe dance even if there’s no radio. We drink at funerals. We talk too much and too loud, and live too large, and frankly, we’re suspicious of others who don’t.” – Chris Rose

Marisa Cleveland Tonya Kuper RT2014 “There’s certain things in life that I love. One is architecture. And music, culture, food, people. NEW ORLEANS has all of that.” – Lenny Kravitz

Marisa Cleveland travel home RT2014“In the spring of 1988, I returned to New Orleans, and as soon as I smelled the air, I knew I was home. It was rich, almost sweet, like the scent of jasmine and roses around our old courtyard. I walked the streets, savoring that long lost perfume.” – Anne Rice

simon marisa rt14
not enough time in his arms!

2 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.