Country Asian

IMG_9753“I didn’t know Asians liked country music.”

Some of you reading this know my story. Others do not. I’m pretty mellow, low key, and unassuming. I’m grateful to wake up every morning, have a passion for products Made in the U.S.A., and appreciate being able to support our local economy.

LoveandTheft 2014 KWSWFBlake Shelton inspired me to write my first novel that my literary agent sold to a publishing house in a three-book deal that’s now a four-book and one novella opportunity for me, and one of my favorite radio stations is Gator Country 101.9 FM.

So it came as a sucker-punch in the gut when someone asked me how I could like country music as an Asian, and I didn’t have an answer.

IMG_4887Seems like I never have the exact answer in the right moment when I need it. I stew silently and compose possible responses in my head, but the words rarely leave my mouth.

So here it is. My rambling response that I didn’t say.

“I didn’t know Asians liked country music.”

IMG_0086How could I not like country music? Every mood I’m ever in is inside a country song. I’m feeling nostalgic… I listen to Miranda Lambert’s Automatic. I want to dance barefoot on the back of a boat? Luke Bryan’s She Get Me High. Then there’s the Night That You’ll Never Forget I first heard Love and Theft sing at the 2014 Key West Songwriters Festival,  and all the songs Chris Young performed at the 2015 Key West Songwriters Festival.

IMG_0015 …and every Blake Shelton song reminds me of the fabulous time I had with my hubby in Orlando at his Ten Times Crazier tour.

But the Florida Georgia Line concert finally caught up with me.

“I didn’t know Asians liked country music.”

Well, I don’t know about all Asians in general, but this one does.

 

xox ~Marisa

Marisa Cleveland Country Asian 2015

One comment

  1. That would have left me speechless too. The idea of anyone thinking our music tastes could be limited by our ethnic background baffles me. I’m caucasian, I love the blues and reggae, among many other things.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.